OCT. 6-14 2018
Days
234
hrs
18
min
20
sec
30

Gas Balloon News

Keep up to date with all the happenings and latest news surrounding the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta! We have three news categories to choose from:

Gas Balloon News

<< <  Page 2 of 4  > >>

Oct 10, 2017

Update 7:25 AM MDT (1325Z) Tuesday, October 10

The America’s Challenge Command Center has received word that Team 1, Albuquerque’s Peter Cuneo and Barbara Fricke, has landed safely near Brighton, VT.    

Oct 10, 2017

Update 5:45 AM MDT (1145Z) Tuesday, October 10 (1145Z)

It’s breakfast time on the U.S. and Canadian East Coast, and the old America’s Challenge distance record is toast. 

Oct 9, 2017

Update 7:00 PM MDT Monday, October 9 (0100Z Tuesday, October 10)

The Command Center has received word from Team 5, Wilhelm Eimers and Sebastian Eimers, that they made a safe landing south of Wausau, WI shortly before 6 PM MDT (0000Z) after a flight of 1,094 miles (1761 km).

Oct 9, 2017

Update 5:45 PM MDT (2345Z) Monday, October 9, 2017

The America’s Challenge leaders are approaching the 1,500-mile (2,414 km) mark, and having transited Lake Superior are over a remote area of southeastern Ontario and streaking towards Quebec at 58 mph (93 kph).  Team 6 (Nicolas Tièche and Laurent Sciboz of Switzerland) has opened up about a 90-mile lead on their closest pursuers, Americans Peter Cuneo and Barbara Fricke of Albuquerque (Team 1).

Oct 9, 2017

Update 11:00 AM MDT (1700Z) Monday, October 9, 2017

The lead two America’s Challenge gas balloon teams have reached a major milestone -- the Great Lakes in their quest to win one of the greatest races in ballooning by traveling the greatest distance from the launch point in Albuquerque.