America's Challenge


The results are now official!  Noah Forden and Bert Padelt (Team 4) are the winners of the 24th America's Challenge distance race for gas balloons.  


Click on Latest Updates to see our posts from throughout the race.  Click here to see photos, videos, and social media posts from our team and our media liaison.     

You can learn more about the event and the history of the America's Challenge by scrolling down below the map.  View the team's positions and the race leaderboard on the YB tracking map below.

Click here to view Balloon Fiesta Live!'s coverage of the launch and other Balloon Fiesta events on Saturday evening.  

Learn more about YB tracking here.  

The America's Challenge Gas Balloon Race is one of the world's two premier distance races for gas balloons.  It is modeled after the Coupe Aeronautique Gordon Bennett, the world's oldest air race and the world championships for distance gas ballooning. The competition is simple. The team that travels the longest distance wins. 


America's Challenge Gas Balloon Race was founded by the Balloon Fiesta in 1995 through the vision and efforts of Mark Sullivan, former Balloon Fiesta president and recipient of the Montgolfier Diplome, one of ballooning's highest honors.  Sullivan saw the need for America to be identified with the world's most prestigious ballooning sport.  We are proud to provide a showcase in the United States to share the adventure and spectacle of gas ballooning.