Bookmark this page to see the latest information from the America's Challenge Gas Balloon Race. Updates will be posted here as they are released. 

Back to tracking page. 

Another Day, Another Briefing, Another Delay

October 4, 2022

Tuesday, October 4 2:40 PM MDT (2040 UTC) It’s getting to be a familiar routine – the eight America’s Challenge teams, along with officials, crew, and weather guys, file into…


Groundhog Day at the America's Challenge?

October 3, 2022

October 3, 2022 7:30 PM (0130 UTC 10/4/2022) Unpredictable, unstable weather continues to plague the America’s Challenge distance race for gas balloons. A briefing scheduled for 8 PM MDT…


Weather Window Opening for America's Challenge?

October 3, 2022

October 3, 2022 2:40 PM MDT (2040 UTC) The first shafts of light are finally beginning to shine into the weather picture for the 25th America’s Challenge gas balloon race, with potential…


Pilots Gather for Monday Briefing

October 3, 2022

The America’s Challenge teams will shortly begin filing into the briefing room at the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta headquarters near Balloon Fiesta Park for the 2 PM MDT (200…


America's Challenge Weather Delays Continue

October 2, 2022

Sunday, October 2, 2022 1700 MDT (2300 UTC) Why are these people smiling? Certainly not because of the unstable weather that continues to plague the 25th America's Challenge distance race f…


Next America's Challenge briefing at 3 PM (2100 UTC) Sunday

October 2, 2022

The America's Challenge gas balloon race teams will meet at 3 PM (2100 UTC) on Sunday, October 2, to review weather conditions and potential launch windows for the race. Race officials and th…


America's Challenge Gas Race Postponed

October 1, 2022

10/01/2022 2:30 PM MDT / 2030 UTC The launch of the 25th America's Challenge Gas Balloon Race, originally scheduled for the evenint of October 1, is being postponed due to weather concerns. T…


America's Challenge Launch Anticipated Saturday October 1

September 30, 2022

9/30/2022 5 PM MDT/2300 UTC The eight America's Challenge teams are safely in Albuquerque and eagerly anticipating the 25th America's Challenge distance race for gas balloons. The launch wind…


Ready for Adventure: Teams Gear Up for 24th America's Challenge

September 22, 2021

After a one-year COVID postponement, adventurous gas balloonists are eagerly awaiting the return of the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta’s America’s Challenge distance race…


Final America's Challenge Results Released as Competitors Celebrate

October 12, 2019

Posted 10:30 PM MDT (0430z) The results of the 23rd America’s Challenge race for gas balloons are now final and confirm what everyone already knew: Andy Cayton of the US and Krzysztof…