America's Challenge 2019

The America's Challenge Gas Balloon Race  is one of the world's two premier distance races for gas balloons.  It is modeled after the Coupe Aeronautique Gordon Bennett (the world's oldest air race, and the world championships for distance gas ballooning), but  it differs from the older event in allowing balloons from all countries, without limits on the number of entries from each.   The team that travels the longest distance wins.   

Congratulatons to Andy Cayton of the USA and Krzysztof Zapart of Poland (Team 1), the winners of the 23rd America's Challenge! 

We've moved to a new, satellite based tracking system this year!  See it here, or for more details check out this guide. On a mobile device, you'll need to download the app and add the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta "Race".

Latest Update

No Start for 25th America's Challenge

October 5, 2022

Wednesday, October 5, 2022 12:30 MDT (1830 UTC) Days of persistent rain, instability, and shifting weather patterns mean the 2022 America’s Challenge distance race for gas balloons will…

America's Challenge 2019

Live Tracking or scroll back up 
Team Quick Reference Sheet
2019 America's Challenge Officials
America's Challenge Rules (2019)


The America's Challenge Gas Ballon Race was founded by the Balloon Fiesta in 1995 through the vision and efforts of Mark Sullivan, former Balloon Fiesta president and recipient of the Montgolfier Diplome, one of ballooning's highest honors.  Sullivan saw the need for America to be identified with the world's most prestigous ballooning sport.  We are proud to provide a showcase in the United States to share the adventure and spectacle of gas ballooning.