The America's Challenge Gas Balloon Race was founded by the Balloon Fiesta in 1995 due to the vision and efforts of Mark Sullivan, former Balloon Fiesta President and recipient of the Montgolfier Diplome (one of ballooning's highest honors), who saw the need for America to be identified with the world's most prestigious ballooning sport.
The America’s Challenge Gas Balloon Race is modeled after the Coupe Aeronautique Gordon Bennett, but  it differs from the older event in allowing balloons from all countries, without limits on the number of entries from each.   The team that travels the longest distance wins. 

Latest Update

see entire list

Final America's Challenge Results Released as Competitors Celebrate

October 12, 2019

Posted 10:30 PM MDT (0430z) The results of the 23rd America’s Challenge race for gas balloons are now final and confirm what everyone already knew: Andy Cayton of the US and Krzysztof…

America's Challenge

America's Challenge returns to Balloon Fiesta for 2019 with 9 teams entered. Five US teams, will be joined by 2 French teams, 1 Austrian team and a mixed USA/Poland team. Launch is scheduled for Saturday, October 5, 2019 weather permitting. You will be able to track their progress right here on



Live Tracking
Team Quick Reference Sheet
2019 America's Challenge Officials
America's Challenge Rules (2019)